Veterans eligibility - seven specific medical conditions

Veterans are eligible for treatment of seven specific medical conditions at public expense.

They come within the purview of what is known as Non Liability Health Care (NLHC) and are authorised vide s.85 of the VEA 1986 and are cross-vested to apply to veterans who come under MRCA 2004.

The conditions covered are:

  • Cancer (Malignant Neoplasm)

  • Pulmonary Tuberculosis

  • Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

  • Depressive disorder

  • Anxiety disorder

  • Alcohol Use Disorder; and

  • Substance Use Disorder

NLHC treatment does not attract a pension or other monetary compensation.

Attached is a DVA Fact Sheet setting out further details

Visit the DVA website at: